Finding the Connection

I haven’t been feeling my best lately, not health wise but just mentally a little lost. Yesterday marked four years since I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.  I was very fortunate to spend the day at an amazing Food Matters Live workshop. As I listened to all of my idols talk (James & Laurentine from Food Matters, Jon Gabriel, Lee Holmes, Dr Libby Weaver and Kim Morrisson) and then danced to the talented Wes Carr, it occurred to me that what I am seeking is CONNECTION! By connection, I mean the amazing feeling I get when I have conversations with like-minded people or sit in an audience listening to people who rock my world. I get excited about sharing knowledge and learning and it is even more electrifying to be sitting in a room filled with people who want to learn, thrive and flourish.

Food Matters

I am beginning to realise that in the past and even now I have limited myself to one-on-one connections and find that it can end up leaving me quite isolated. I think this connection with just one person might be too micro and maybe I need to look on a macro level  and think bigger.

Lately I have been noticing that I am surrounded by strong, fun, amazing women who are absolutely inspiring me. I recently went to the movies on my own, actually twice last week to see Brooklyn and Deadpool (definitely have a crush on the hilarious Ryan Reynolds). Anyway, when I mentioned this, I was surprised that lots of people I know, especially  women, go to the movies on their own.

This planted a seed in my mind that maybe I am not alone in wanting to connect with people. Maybe, sometimes it would be nice not doing everything solo and be part of something bigger. So do I start a book club or spiritual women’s circle or can I just suggest we hit somewhere with live music and dance? How do I connect with these amazing women? 

I guess the point I am trying to make is that I am surrounded by these connections I seek already. I tend to opt to do things alone thinking that everyone around me are busy but what if they are looking for the same thing I am?  Maybe I just need to pull off a classic Taylor Swift move and get my squad together. It might feel intimidating at first, but once I take the bold first step, hopefully things will start to fall into place. I simply just need to be brave, disregard my fear of rejection and just ask “do you want to join me?”

Can you relate to this?

Signature

8 Replies to “Finding the Connection”

  1. I would love to be a wing women anytime Mel…all you need to do is ask…and if it’s not this time, it’s next 😉
    Thursday nights is chakra dancing….come and play and dance??!!!

  2. Spiritual Women’s Cirlce with chakra dancing sounds amazing Mel. Great idea. Let me know when the first gathering is.I’d also be really keen to learn about your food ideas. Just starting out on my own clean eating journey, it’s all a bit daunting!

Leave a Reply

