Becoming a fighter

I thought my last post would be my last but this morning I wanted to share some thoughts with you all.

Seven years ago today my late husband was diagnosed with cancer. Has this time gone fast or slow? The answer is a bit of both. So much has happened and changed yet other things remain the same.

I love this line from the book The Fault in Our Stars

“Grief does not change you, Hazel. It reveals you.”
― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

Coping with a loved one being diagnosed with cancer, then becoming a carer and finally becoming a widow definitely revealed who I was. It magnified my strengths and weaknesses.

Ultimately though, today represents a day that changed my life forever. I remember the strong determination I felt to fight it and beat it. It was like putting on boxing gloves and getting in the ring with a powerful competitor and fighting the fight of your life. I didn’t hesitate or think of myself because I was going to protect my family no matter what. During this time I took the punches and just kept moving forward. No matter how many challenging and difficult experiences life sent me, and no matter how many painful situations, I always found a way to cope.

This determination remains today and I will continue to come out of these “battles” with my head held up high and a big smile on my face. Seven years later I still have the greatest role of being a protector, supporter, nurturer, encourager, fighter and mother.

Rocky

3 Replies to “Becoming a fighter”

Leave a Reply

