Reinventing ourselves

Over the past few years I have begun to learn how to reinvent myself. The death of my husband and diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis de-stabilised me – in other words it upset the smooth flow of my life. Suddenly my identity was cracked wide open and I was forced to examine who I was. It amazes me that it always seems to take a tragedy or a devastating event to motivate or lead us to radical growth.

Never be afraid

Mahatma Gandhi said “Our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world as in
being able to remake ourselves”

I have reinvented myself through education like reading, listening to podcasts, watching inspirational movies and writing. I have also learnt to listen to myself, trust my intuition and examine my thoughts. I have found ways to exercise that suit me and I have discovered the great benefits of eating food that nourishes my body. I have also found ways to have fun, laugh and enjoy life.

I have spoken about being the leading lady in our own lives but it is just as important to understand that we need to direct our lives as well. We are in charge of how we approach every situation and need to actively choose reinvention. I continually ask myself “What can I do in this moment to keep moving forward?” I promise you it is not always easy but somehow I know I have to maintain momentum, even if it is one simple small thing at a time.

Recently I was reminded of the below except from A Return to Love, by Marianne Williamson and I truly love the idea. I guess it is about choosing courage instead of letting fear choose the future for you and allowing ourselves to shine no matter what life throws at us.

Our deepest fear

3 Replies to “Reinventing ourselves”

  1. Thanks Mel for mentioning this quote that I read out the other day. It gets me every time and makes me quite emotional. Love the context you’ve written about here, a new way to think about it. Keep reinventing lovely lady!!
    Much luv.
    S xx

Leave a Reply

