Happy News

This week I had an appointment with my neurologist for a check-up. I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis on the 28th February 2012. I have not been on any medication for MS for well over a year now. Links about my diagnosis can be found here – Multiple Sclerosis – Part 1 – The Diagnosis and here –  Multiple Sclerosis – Part 2 – My Turning Point and also Kiss Goodbye to MS

As I walked in for my appointment my neurologist had one look at me and said “you are obviously feeling well” and I said “I am feeling great“. He progressed to do the regular checks for vision, balance, reflexes and simply said “I think I need to start doing what you are doing“. I was excited to hear this because typically he was sceptical of my change of diet and lifestyle and lack of medication. I have a sneaking suspicion that the research is ever so slowly beginning to back up my beliefs.

My beliefs are very simple and that is to be gently guided by your own body. Eating simply, living simply without unnecessary complications or busyness is what works for me. I don’t get caught up in theorems, or new diets. I like the Paleo concept yet I would never describe myself as Paleo or use any type of label. Amazingly eating less processed foods means you automatically eat a more clean, ethical and environmentally sound diet. I eat consciously, aware of what I put into my body. I value sleep as a time for healing and intentionally do not over-schedule my life and the lives of my children. The benefits of these changes have been overwhelming.

As I stepped out of the hospital this week you could not take the smile off my face. My neurologist said “you don’t need to come back unless anything changes“. I felt immense pride and satisfaction with myself. I know it is early days but I am so determined and more committed than ever. When you decide to make positive changes it gives you the most empowering feeling. It is exciting to know that I am making a difference to my health. The diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis was my wake up call and I can tell you I am well and truly awake.

 A major factor contributing to my great results so far is simply that I make myself and my health a priority in my life. There is nothing selfish about making yourself a priority especially when in my case my children have a mother who is well and that is invaluable.

To Try

10 Replies to “Happy News”

  1. What an amazing achievement from an amazing woman. Think of how far you’ve come and where you’ve come from in such a short time. We are all so proud of you.

    1. Thank you Maree and Karen. My other secret to going well is having fabulous friends and family who support me unconditionally.

  2. You are an inspiration to me Mel. so much evolutionary news is going on_our bodys our nerves our natural instincts and connectedness

  3. That has made my YEAR!!! You were so determined from day one that you were going to give everything you have to be strong and healthy and look at the result. You should be truly proud of yourself as it was a very big change at the beginning but now you would not change anything!!! Well done again gorgeous Lady!!! Xx

  4. Such wonderful news Mel. So happy for you that you are feeling so well. You are an incredible woman who I continue to learn so much from. Thanks for sharing. X Jo

Leave a Reply

