100 Gratitudes

Writing a list of 100 Gratitudes is an idea I read about from Robert Holden Ph.D. The key to the list is that each entry needs to include a “what” and a “why”. I am happy to report that I found the 100 items so easy to write and just let them flow naturally. They are in no particular order and I would recommend this task to anyone, I promise it doesn’t take much time at all. For me the list provided me with the ability to recognise what is truly valuable in my life. It was an uplifting and energising experience and is a great way to let go of any ideas of ‘lack’. Don’t feel as though you need to read my list – I just found the idea to be very cool and wanted to share it.

  1. I am grateful for my children because they not only bring joy to my life but are responsible for helping me cope with grief.
  2. I am grateful for my family who are supportive and give me endless amounts of their time.
  3. I am grateful that I experienced a rich true connection with my gorgeous husband.
  4. I am grateful that I know what a loving marriage looks like and my children have an excellent bench mark to view marriage from.
  5. I am grateful that I married my best friend because we truly never ran out of conversation.
  6. I am grateful that I married young and never took our time together for granted.
  7. I am grateful that I was able to experience what it felt like to be a full time carer and look after someone when they were sick.
  8. I am grateful that the last few years of my husbands life were filled with so much fun, laughter and gratitude.
  9. I am grateful that I was able to grieve with my husband and have many important conversations.
  10. I am grateful that I am a life long learner committed to understanding myself and the world I live in.
  11. I am grateful that I am a financially independent person able to support myself and my children.
  12. I am grateful for the diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis because it reminded me to slow down and reassess my life.
  13. I am grateful that I have learnt to eat mindfully to help enrich my body.
  14. I am grateful for the discovery of the joy of yoga because my body loves the stretches and care.
  15. I am grateful for the friendships that I have actively formed and grown.
  16. I am grateful for crystals because I enjoy their powers.
  17. I am grateful for the water I drink because it helps me stay hydrated.
  18. I am grateful for my house that keeps us warm and is in a great location.
  19. I am grateful that I have had to learn to ask for help on occasions as a single mother because it is good  being vulnerable.
  20. I am grateful when I look up and see a gorgeous blue sky because it makes me feel so wonderful.
  21. I am grateful to be able to write because it helps me express myself fully.
  22. I am grateful that I can write a blog on the internet because it has opened up lots of conversations for me.
  23. I am grateful for my computer because it holds all of my files, photos and gives me the capacity to research.
  24. I am grateful for emails because I am able to read others great writing and words of wisdom.
  25. I am grateful for Facebook because I love seeing photos of holidays, wedding, babies and all events in peoples lives.
  26. I am grateful for the gorgeous variety of herbal tea leaves I have because I love the ceremony of enjoying a pot of tea.
  27. I am grateful for my unit at the beach because it provides me with a connection to nature.
  28. I am grateful for the ocean because I love looking at it and swimming in it.
  29. I am grateful for the sand because I love the feeling on my feet and I love sitting on the beach.
  30. I am grateful when I see a full moon because I love the way it makes me feel so alive.
  31. I am grateful when my family and I laugh so hard that we can hardly stop because it make me feel so happy.
  32. I am grateful for raw chocolate and the bliss balls I make because they are such a delicious treat.
  33. I am grateful for my cold pressed juicer because I can make fresh juice and vegetable juice every morning for my children and I.
  34. I am grateful that I have access to such wonderfully fresh fruit and vegetables because they fuel my body with the nutrients I crave.
  35. I am grateful that I prioritise a massage once a month because I enjoy the relaxation and human connection.
  36. I am grateful that I have an acupuncturist because I value western and eastern medicine.
  37. I am grateful that I am able to get advice from my Naturopath because she looks at the whole body not just one aspect.
  38. I am grateful for the times that I feel totally content because those times a pure bliss.
  39. I am grateful for the times that I don’t feel content because they encourage me to seek a better attitude.
  40. I am grateful for each of my children who are so brave and incredible teaches.
  41. I am grateful for my son who gives advice and listens just like his father.
  42. I am grateful for my eldest daughter who is so self-motivated which is a skill she was born with.
  43. I am grateful for my youngest daughter who bring so much laughter to our lives.
  44. I am grateful that I was able to see that in the middle of every difficulty lies an opportunity for growth.
  45. I am grateful for hard times because they helped me build determination and inner strength.
  46. I am grateful that I can see that life is too short to be anything but happy.
  47. I am grateful that I can resolves issues with my children by sitting down and talking because open communication is a great skill for life.
  48. I am grateful that I appreciate silence and know that it is important to not fill every moment with noise.
  49. I am grateful that I enjoy my own company and can go to a cafe or movies on my own.
  50. I am grateful that I also appreciate other peoples company and enjoy sharing fun times with them.
  51. I love that I understand that money and power are not sources of happiness instead being warm-hearted is.
  52. I am grateful that I am open-minded which means I don’t just believe everything instead I investigate and form my own opinion.
  53. I am grateful that I don’t preach to others about my opinion because I believe you need to want to discover it for yourself.
  54. I am grateful that I am not competitive yet strive for individual excellence.
  55. I am grateful that I have learnt to let go of ideas of perfection because it is more satisfying to be content and accepting.
  56. I am grateful that I am beginning to let go of fear and replace it with love because a fear of failure can stop me doing so many things.
  57. I am grateful that I understand that my path is not the only path and therefore do not judge others.
  58. I am grateful that i have learnt to become more comfortable with silence because it have given me time to learn.
  59. I am grateful that I am learning to talk less and say more because in the past I would want to fill the void with words.
  60. I am grateful to my dog who opened my eyes to a whole different love that I didn’t know existed.
  61. I am grateful to my dog for always greeting me with such enthusiasm because it makes me feel so loved.
  62. I am grateful to my dog for reminding me to just enjoy each moment.
  63. I am grateful that I have the patience to wait for wonderful things to happen at the right time.
  64. I am grateful that I have friends I can talk openly to because honesty is so important.
  65. I am grateful for every type of music because they know how to stir emotion.
  66. I am grateful for songs that make me dance like no one is watching.
  67. I am grateful for songs that make me remember all of the wonderful memories I have.
  68. I am grateful for songs that remind me that I am passionate  and sexy!
  69. I am grateful for the pure joy I feel when I turn the radio up or put my headphones in at full blast.
  70. I am so glad that I can afford a membership at a gym and enjoy a variety of classes.
  71. I am very glad that I can always find a class that suits me at that moment.
  72. I am glad I understand that I don’t have to exhaust myself to be fit.
  73. I am glad I can also find strength in a yoga class and not have to be under the impression that I need to sweat.
  74. I will be forever grateful that the right people turn up in my life at the right time.
  75. I am grateful for every book I have read because they have shaped my learning.
  76. I am grateful when someone gives me a book to borrow and it turns out to be exactly what I need to hear.
  77. I am grateful when people make me feel uncomfortable because I understand it is a mirror of what I need to learn.
  78. I am grateful that I sometimes experience negative energy from someone because it makes me appreciate my positive energy.
  79. I am grateful whenever I see the moon because it is full of such beauty and wonder.
  80. I am grateful for the sun because I love the feeling of warmth on my face especially in winter.
  81. I am grateful for water and air-conditioning because it keeps me cool in summer.
  82. I am grateful that I can have honest conversations with my children because I think it is important.
  83. I am grateful that my parents taught me how to be organised because it is such a great skill to have.
  84. I am grateful that my children love cooking and help with dinner each night.
  85. I am grateful that my parents never waste a minute of their time because they are a great examples of living life to the fullest.
  86. I am grateful I have one younger sister because when we are together we have so many laughs and private jokes.
  87. I am grateful that I am able to manage all of my financial affairs, but am not obsessed with money.
  88. I am grateful that we took so many home movies when the children were young because it is a wonderful reminder of their relationship with their Dad.
  89. I am grateful that the home movies include not just concerts but also chatting around the table, so we can remember the banter we all experienced.
  90. I am grateful for any work that I complete because I know that the right job is just around the corner.
  91. I am grateful that the children and I continue to have dinner with my husbands family every Wednesday night. That relationship is very important.
  92. I am grateful that I am an aunt because it is a fun role to have nieces and nephews.
  93. I am grateful for time, for slowing down when I need it to.
  94. I am grateful for early nights because my body and mind loves a good night sleep.
  95. I am grateful for the many dreams I have of my late husband, they are truly a gift.
  96. I am grateful when I listen to a wonderful guided meditation or beautiful music because it seems to revitalise me.
  97. I am grateful for movies or television shows that evoke an emotion because sometimes i just need a cleansing cry.
  98. I am grateful for movies or television shows that just make me laugh because sometimes laughter is the best medicine.
  99. I am grateful that the children have never questioned my ‘no television during the week’ rule because I really don’t think they want the distraction either.
  100. Gee 100 came around quickly – I am very grateful for this list and my life right now at this moment. It is not perfect, but I can very easily think of over 100 things that are perfect about it, so that sounds pretty good to me.
2 Replies to “100 Gratitudes”

Leave a Reply

