Gratefulness

gratefulness1

Being grateful is a skill that I have actively practiced for many years. Recently I went to a class about gratitude with Toni Powell and even though I already practice many of the skills, it was wonderful to have a refresher. Gratitude is a skill that comes naturally to me but I am also very conscious that when I forget to practice gratefulness life gets a little trickier. It was great to hear the scientific evidence that reiterates benefits of practicing gratitude. There are strong biological contributions to depression, anxiety and feelings of hopelessness according to a clinical psychologist Gemma Roux.

Being grateful for each day literally helps change your perception of the world, it is uplifting and helps discern between what is important and what is not. It is often the little things that we easily miss that are important.

On this day nineteen years ago I walked down the aisle in the Marist College Ashgrove chapel and married a man who made me laugh and made my heart beat faster every time I saw him. Anniversaries were very special for us both, so it is always emotional for me to be apart on this day.

Gratitude is not always an emotional response to happy times instead it is a decision about how we approach life – happy and sad times. So today as I remember my late husband I am grateful for his smile that made my heart melt, the loving way he held my hand in his,  and the way his laugh filled every room. I am grateful for the cleansing tears that fell down my face today and for the heartfelt messages and stunning flowers from my husband’s family. I am grateful to continue to be loved as a sister-in-law and daughter-in-law.

Anniversary flowers

I am grateful for the scrumptious dinner I will enjoy with my parents, sister, brother-in-law and children to celebrate tonight. As I hug my parents who arrived home from overseas today and whom I missed, I know that their love and compassion on this day and everyday is so strong and so supportive and for this I am forever grateful.

On-particularly-rough-days.

 

4 Replies to “Gratefulness”

Leave a Reply

