Follow my Intuition

Have you heard this phrase before – follow your intuition? You may have even read about finding your bliss.

Sometimes I ignore my inner voice and pretend that I don’t hear what it is telling me. In the last few weeks I have been lost and feeling the full impact of grief and loss. My inner voice and intuition was telling me to experience it but I was fighting it – viewing these feelings as signs of weakness.

Then I was reminded of the words of Eckhart Tolle – “Some changes look negative on the surface but you will soon realise that space is being created in your life for something new to emerge”. Eckhart also suggests that life will give you whatever experience is most helpful.

So I decided to surrender to these emotions. Loneliness, despair, fears, limitations, sadness and hopelessness are all emotions that are valid and real. It is easy, especially with so much social media, to only display and see the happy and joyful times. We then begin to believe that any other emotions and feelings are not valid. The harsh reality is that we all experience all sorts of emotions on a daily basis. Instead of remaining in my head and mind I moved to my heart. I stopped clinging to these feelings and overthinking them and let them flow through me.

I am the first person to admit that I am a glass half full kind of girl and generally look at life through rose-coloured glasses but I also want to proclaim that sometimes keeping up the facade of 100% happiness is hard to uphold. There are times that I have to practice mindfulness, sit in my grief, experience it, feel it and definitely cry about it.  When I experience what I am supposed to learn from these emotions I can begin to feel like I am enough again – I begin to heal, find the joy, the hope and  the spring in my step again. Every time I stop looking for happiness outside myself and fighting the thoughts racing through my mind I learn more about myself. It is ok to surrender to the shadows.

Sometimes throwing ourselves into the darkness and being brave to really feel every emotion can result in finding true unconditional love for ourselves. When I trust what my heart is saying, I can trust my intuition, follow my bliss and  follow the natural flow of life with ease and grace. Today I am energised and hopeful but I think it is important to remember the ebb and flow of life. Sometimes I need the quieter sadder times to remind me how brilliantly bright the joyful times really are.

Follow your bliss

3 Replies to “Follow my Intuition”

  1. Mel, you know yourself better than anyone else. Listening to yourself has brought you this far .. just keep doing what you believe to be true. xx

  2. Wow, this is exactly what I needed to read today. Thank you. It is less painful when you keep busy and push away the pain. But it is so, so important to face it, and let it be felt, in order to heal.

Leave a Reply

