Kiss Goodbye to MS

Kiss goodbye to MS

Last week I lay in an MRI machine in a deep meditative state, with a calm mind and determined attitude.

As I am taking no medication for my MS my neurologist and I agreed to do an MRI to see what the disease was up to. Today I walked into his office feeling apprehensive and nervous. Was all of my hard work going to pay off?

The purpose of an MRI scan is to look for LESIONS.  These are scars (or plaques) which can be seen on MRI scans which show when the myelin has been damaged.  MS varies considerably depending on the person and the severity of the condition. The severity of the condition is largely determined by the size of the plaques and where they are located in the brain or spine.

Today my results revealed no evidence of progression since the 2012 scan. My neck MRI even demonstrates mild/moderate improvement when compared to the prior study. In summary my neurologist stated the MS was currently inactive.

Oh my goodness how wonderful is that word inactive? I find it a little funny because I have been anything but inactive in working to reverse this disease.

WHAT IS MY DISEASE-MODIFYING TREATMENT 

  • Food is my medicine. I use it to heal my body and restore my health. This means I eat mindfully, aware of everything that goes into my body. My food philosophy is that I put into my body only whole-foods, fresh organic produce and ingredients as close to their natural state as possible.
    (See related posts My Food Philosophy)
  •  Reducing Stress. I do this with yoga, meditation, deep breathing. I also go to the gym regularly doing anything from a cycle class, to kettle bell classes to pilates. I also try to swim as much as I can and stay as close to nature as possible. As a full time stay at home mum of school aged children I am fortunate to have the time for these activities but it also takes some determination to prioritise these activities.
  • Alternative medicine. I have a wonderful relationship with my Naturopath and Acupuncturist who give me the support to maintain a healthy gut,  good mental attitude and overall wellness.
  • Healing Sessions. This is an aspect of my treatment that I rarely mention to anyone because I am fearful of the reaction. But for today I want to let you know that I also believe in the benefits of Reiki. I was first introduced to Reiki by a wonderful friend and also have sessions with an amazing lady who combines Reiki & Seichim (Egyptian healing wisdom). This may be a little hard to understand for some but I have an enormous amount of faith in this healer who does wonderful energy work.

So is all of my good clean living paying off? The answer to this question at this stage is a resounding YES. Tonight I will not be celebrating with Champagne but with a gorgeous glass of mineral water with a slice of lemon in it. I have never ever felt more vibrant and determined than I do today. I am well aware that MS is unpredictable but for today I am celebrating my win.

Final note: Every single person with MS is totally different with a different type of progression and symptoms. This is simply my story. 

12 Replies to “Kiss Goodbye to MS”

  1. Such wonderful news for you! You have worked so hard staying healthy and positive – you deserve all good things that come your way. xx

  2. Fabulous news for you, Mel. It’s wonderful to see the brilliant results from your determination and positive attitude. Keep up the great work.

  3. Awesome news Mel, your working hard and living a healthy and active lifestyle well done. I also believe attitude is key to all things in life, your attitude is amazing and your an inspiration to all who know you, take care, cheers Rob

  4. Hi Melissa, I just found your blog today & what a great day to tune in!!! Fantastic news, you should be so proud of your hard work & determination. xx kim

  5. Hello my husband was diagnosed with MS after battling the disease for about 4 years now . We FINALLY were able to get him help and testing after being turned away from several hospitals . We would like to change his to change his diet . As we are new to this and switching from eating basically junk do you have any suggestions on where he should start?

    1. Sylvia, when I was diagnosed I found that I really needed to make the decision to change my eating for myself. I remember being in the shops and seeing the book ‘Sweet Poison’ by David Gillespie and while reading it I removed all sugar from my world. I reorganised my fridge and pantry as well. If you enjoy watching movies then ‘Food Matters’ and ‘Hungry for Change’ are brilliant. I try and avoid gluten and processed foods in general and use an 80/20 rule. Great cookbooks are ‘Super Charged Food’ by Lee Holmes and the Make it Merry ebook. I find it strange when people say “are you still on that diet?” because it is no longer a diet, it is simply eating delicious foods that my body loves. I am not going to tell you that it is easy because it isn’t but if your husband is passionate about eating foods that will make him flourish then it is well worth it. It is not only about the food we eat but also our mindset – try not to view it as a diet or going without. For me, food is medicine and what I put into my body is a direct reflection of how I feel. You always have the choice.

Leave a Reply

