Let Go and be Happy

This week I read a story and I wanted to share it because for me it was very timely.

Once upon a time there was a little sparrow,

She loved to fly so high in the sky

So innocent and free

One day while flying

She sensed an immediate threat

Looking down, she saw a hunter

With his gun pointed straight up at her

Ready to flee,

She looked upwards

Only to see

Even more danger

An eagle eyeing her from way up above

Like a piece of candy

The Little Sparrow with no choice to be free,

Decided to let go,

Surrendering her life to God,

In complete serenity

In that precise moment

A snake bit the hunter,

Who misfired his riffle,

Hitting the eagle

Setting the Little Sparrow free.

– Nicky Sehra.

Some of you may put the sparrows freedom down to luck and I agree it is a reasonable explanation. I however believe that we need to trust that we are  exactly where we are meant to be and follow the natural course of life.  I guess I am suggesting that we don’t fight life, don’t resist it but instead trust the wisdom of life. Complete acceptance is not an easy task and takes quite a bit of strength. I have learnt firsthand that we cannot control events or circumstances in our lives. One thing we can do is simply ‘let go‘ and ‘surrender’ to the universe.

“Acceptance of one’s life has nothing to do with resignation; it does not mean running away from the struggle. On the contrary, it means accepting it as it comes, with all the handicaps of heredity, of suffering, of psychological complexes and injustices” – Paul Tournier

I am not suggesting giving up but every time I try to control my life it complicates events further. I have had to learn to become comfortable with the unknown. I know for myself holding emotions, stress, pain and fear accumulates to disease. Allowing my feelings to surface and learning to ‘let go’ allows me to move forward in life.

“Some people believe holding on and hanging in there are signs of great strength. However, there are times when it takes much more strength to know when to let go and then do it.” ~ Ann Landers

butterfly_on_hand-1280x800

Leave a Reply

