To live like a lotus flower

lotus_flower

Last week in yoga we focused on the Lotus flower and all of its beauty and meaning. I have always had a strong connection to these beautiful flowers. You may have even noticed that I have a photo of a lotus flower on the top of my blog.

They grow in muddy water and manage to rise and bloom above the murk. If you have ever observed a lotus flower emerging from a murky pond you will notice that the exquisite plant looks so clean and pure against the background of the dirty pond.

This mud represents the fact that all humans are born in a world where there is suffering and obstacles. These obstacles are a vital part of the human experience; ultimately they make us stronger.

It can even be related to the childhood story of ‘the ugly duckling’ where a beautiful swan emerges.

I like to think of the Lotus flower when I feel like I am in murky waters and hope that I too can emerge and blossom. For me this might mean a change of ideas, an acceptance of some kind or just working through my feelings of grief. Like the flower sometimes I struggle to make my way through the mud from the bottom of a pond but then I am reminded that it is my job to rise above until I finally reach the surface to bloom.

“The lotus flower blooms most beautifully from the deepest and thickest mud.” –  Buddhist proverb

3 thoughts on “To live like a lotus flower

  1. Whenever I light my lotus flower candle I think of you … You have certainly risen above some very murky waters and are a truly beautiful friend.

Leave a Reply

