Fathers Day

First and foremost Happy Fathers Day to every single father out there and I hope you had a wonderful day.

“Fathers make an important difference in the lives of their children, one can never underestimate the power of a loving, involved and engaging Dad. They really matter in big and small ways”. – By Dr ATHENA STAIK, PH.D.

I also whole heartedly thank the precious grandfathers, uncles, teachers, coaches, friends and men of honour who care enough to be father figures in my children’s  lives.

The task of parenthood is sometimes a difficult one but being a mother and widow with three children without a father today is heartbreaking. I can not even begin to explain how much I would love to take away all of their pain and allow them the luxury of enjoying this day with their gorgeous father. Unfortunately I can not do this but I can give them all the love in the world and I can continue to remind them of the remarkable man their father was.

Each year my children are bombarded with the constant Fathers Day advertising and the crafty cards and projects made at school. This year my eleven year old decided to make her project for her DAD and I believe that this is just perfect. After all he is her father, just not physically present in her life.

This morning I received a touching message saying Happy Fathers Day to me and I must say I really needed to hear it. It was so lovely being acknowledged for my tricky role of being both mother and father.

My wish for today is that all fathers have the courage and confidence in the privilege and responsibility of fatherhood. I also hope that all fathers are honoured and appreciated today. My children tell me that there is nothing worse than hearing children complain about their fathers. So go and and tell your father you love him and how important he is in your life – I certainly have.

I love you daddy

This post is dedicated to my gorgeous husband John, who never told his children how to live instead he let them watch him do it.

 

2 Replies to “Fathers Day”

  1. Melissa,
    Thank you for your story. Your three treasures have some hard times but will appreciate that they were fortunate to have the greatest Dad.
    Enjoy your holiday. It must be coming up soon.

Leave a Reply

