You are loved

You are loved. The words that every one of us needs to hear. When we do someone a kind deed or help someone in need we are saying you are loved. When we really listen to someone or give him or her our unconditional support we are saying you are loved.

I have been thinking about this a lot lately because it is easy to search for this love outside ourselves. At times I even crave the feelings of being loved and connected with another human being. Will I feel more love if I was thiner or will I feel more love if I have an important job? Who can give me the love I need?

I am discovering that the love I crave has to first come from myself.

make friends with yourself

The healing power of self love is miraculous. This week I found myself forgetting that everything I need is already within me. I was searching outwardly for others to make me happy.

Refuse to help me

 Nobody else is responsible for our happiness but ourselves. It is easy to look to others believing they are the key to our happiness. I may think “if I had this or if they did this or that then I could be really content“. In our society and in my own unconscious mind lies a belief that my happiness is controlled by others. However my true happiness resides with me. This doesn’t mean becoming a recluse or being fiercely independent but it does mean that I need to stop relying on others to entertain me and bring me happiness. It all seems to come back to valuing and enjoying my own company. With this knowledge I am working hard to feel that I am loved.

This quote below changed the way I think about creating self-reliance. It really resonates with me and is my favourite:

“She discovered that she was the one she’d been waiting for” – Kobi Yamada

6 Replies to “You are loved”

  1. Mel you write with such passion and from the heart and I thoroughly enjoy reading each and every piece you write. I love your positive approach to life and your deeply spiritual outlook. You are an amazing woman.

  2. Mel, I’m loving your blog. Your words are so articulate & heartfealt & provide great comfort & support & inspiration. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

