My Food Philosophy

We are what we eat

This is a topic I have been both apprehensive and excited to write about. I am very passionate about what I put into my body and yet have been challenged many times on this topic.

 When I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis I thought my body had let me down and then I began to wonder “or did I let my body down” and as these thoughts began to grow I began to investigate how I could give my body the respect and love it needed to fight this disease.

I will never forget meeting a beautiful lady who had quit sugar and even though I admired her I thought ‘how crazy – life is about enjoying yourself and sugar especially chocolate makes me happy‘. Then I had acupuncture and she told me to stop eating sugar and I said ‘no way’. Little did I know that these little chance meetings planted a seed in my mind.

I decided life cannot be lived to its full extent without me being at my most vibrant. So what would make me vibrant?

From this point I did a copious amount of reading, research and gathered as much information as I could about diet and nutrition and even went to a health retreat to re-educate myself and re-learn the conventional ‘food pyramid’ and  I began to uncover what type of food would help my immune system.

My greatest discovery and favourite quote revealed that I could use food as ‘medicine’ to heal my body and begin to restore my health.

ann wigmore quote

I read Sweet Poison by David Gillespie and I quit Sugar Ebook by Sarah Wilson then

I cut out sugar in all forms from my diet.

I adopted a ‘my body is a temple‘ attitude.

Then I cut out gluten, soy, dairy (except some goat products occasionally) alcohol and grain.

Focus on adding

My food philosophy is that I put into my body only whole-foods, fresh produce and ingredients as close to their natural state as possible. As Lee Holmes puts it “beautiful foods that attract my eye and warm my heart”.

What is she eating? I hear you say.

I am eating the freshest organic vegetables I can find, organic protein (fish, chicken, red meat), delicious vegetable juices, soups, quinoa, some nuts and seeds, eggs,  even some gorgeous cacao and coconut in its raw form occasionally.

I have personally found the benefits of this type of eating include mental clarity, vitality, a boost to my energy levels, enthusiasm for life, and an overall good way to  jump-start my immune system.

If I was told my Multiple Sclerosis was cured tomorrow I would still eat in this manner as it has become my passion and is an integral part of the overall well-being of my mind, body and soul.

PLEASE NOTE: I am over a year into this way of eating and I promise you it continues to take a tremendous amount of will power, passion and commitment. I don’t want to pretend that it is a walk in the park because at times it can be frustrating and challenging.  For this reason I discovered that it really needs to be driven by my own self motivation and determination and needs to be a conscious mindful decision I make daily.

Ultimately I am continuously discovering what foods my body needs, what nourishes me and what makes my life extraordinary. I am constantly experimenting with new flavours and alternative ways of cooking. Cauliflower pizza base is my latest find and I love it – cause sometimes you just feel like pizza!

As with everything in my life my three children are my biggest supporters. They still have treats but overall they are genuinely enjoying this way of eating. They have watched all of the movies below and more and are really beginning to see the benefits. They have  adopted an 80/20 rule (treats 20% of the time and nourishing food 80% of the time). It works for them and it needs to be their decision not mine.

Extra Resources

If you have a spare 18 minutes and would like to see an inspirational MS patient –  the following clip is brilliant.

Minding your Mitochondria – Dr Terry Wahls

A good friend lent me this movie and it was the first real eye opener for the children and I:

http://www.foodmatters.tv/dvds/hungry-for-change

I cried at the end of this movie. To make a decision to consciously change your health is an inspiration.

http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/

My favourite cookbook is:

6 Replies to “My Food Philosophy”

  1. Hi Melissa,

    My parents are friends of your parents and told me about your blog and what an inspiration you are.

    I share your beliefs on Nutrition and have just started to study Nutritional Medicine. I only buy organic, no gluten or GMO etc and understand the challenges you mention of eating this way! I met David Gillespie last Saturday at his new book launch ‘Toxic Oil’ – (not sure if you have read that one yet).

    Happy to bounce food ideas around and share some good links with you if you’re interested.

    Stay Strong!
    Toni x

  2. I just want to say I am very new to blogs and certainly liked this page. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You actually come with awesome articles. Bless you for sharing with us your web-site.

Leave a Reply

