Multiple Sclerosis – Part 2 – My Turning Point

Being diagnosed with a disease, a broken marriage, losing a loved one, your job or even losing respect are all forms of grief in their own way.

“In grief, there is a time when pain seems to be in control. Then there is a turning point and a time following when pain may still be there, but we are once again in charge of our lives” – Alla Renee’ Bozarth, Ph.D.

The death of my husband and diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis were my wake up calls. Dr. Raymond Charles Barker says “When there is a problem, there is not something to do, there is something to know”. These wake up calls can start small or be big and can come in many forms – a heart attack, a car accident, death of a loved one, cancer – but the choice on how to react is yours. My guess is that if you ignore them they will keep occurring in your life in some form.

Every occurrence is an opportunity to awaken even more or to fall even deeper asleep” – Melissa Ambrosini

 I had two very distinct choices:

  • Option 1 – Become a victim and think ‘life is cruel‘, ‘it is not fair and I give up‘ or ‘it’s just one thing after the other‘, ‘I just can’t win‘, ‘I am now unlovable‘.

OR

  • Option 2 – Sit quietly and calmly consider ‘What lessons can I learn from this?’ ‘What kinds of thoughts am I having that has created this?’

This may remind you of the classic saying –  “the glass is both half full and half empty, depending on how you look at it” – Louise L Hay.

It was a hope versus despair scenario.

I consciously began to examine the gifts Multiple Sclerosis had provided me – it forced me to slow down, enjoy each moment,  be incredibly grateful for life and never take my health for granted and has offered me with profound opportunities for growth.

After two months of swaying between the victim mentality and positivity I passionately decided to embrace my journey. This does not mean that I don’t have rough days – I do –  but it is all about finding a balance and having the appropriate tools to dig myself out of that black hole.

I intended on listing everything I did to radically change my thinking from reiki to yoga to acupuncture to meditation to Naturopathy and even though these all played a vital role in my personal journey in the end it is a matter of finding your own inner strength and listening to your own inner voice.

It is a drop from head to heart. From future to present. From fear to love”. – Jess Ainscough

I personally had to come to a point of acceptance where everything happens for a reason even if the reason may often seem unclear to us. Once I accepted my current situation I found that my life began to transform and I continue now to feel a greater sense of peace, harmony and well being.

Acceptance is love and love is the greatest healer.

Some of you may be thinking it is impossible to make these changes, so why try? You may even be thinking ‘I don’t have the time’. If you are continuously choosing option 1 you may not like to think negatively but at least you can handle the pain and disappointments because you have become familiar with these  feelings. Reading my thoughts and ideas may even be bringing up feelings of anger or annoyance.

Wonderful! This means the truth must be hitting a raw nerve.

So, which option are you choosing in your life?

Thoughts-Create-Your-Reality-300x196

Sit for a moment and catch your thought. What are you thinking right now?

On my bathroom mirror in bright pink liquid chalk I have written – “My thoughts create my life” as a daily reminder.

The good news is thought patterns can be changed. If you are genuinely interested in changing your thoughts fantastic books include:

                                         You can heal your life Choosing happinessThe Power of NowStillness speaks

If you need some extra encouragement below is a cutout from my ten year olds prayer book she made for school this week. This is a child who lost her amazing father at age eight and yet lives her life with a zest and enthusiasm that should be admired by all.

Lilly quote

Affirmation

5 Replies to “Multiple Sclerosis – Part 2 – My Turning Point”

  1. Mel, What can I say! Touché
    I know I am at a turning point when I know the authors you are quoting. Brilliantly put!! However, my turning point seems to be a long corner 😉
    Sam

  2. Your inspiring.. I wish my sister n law would chose to embrace the journey instead of being a victim. She refuses man made drugs. She’s weak, frail,rude, ungrateful. It’s hard but we all bite our tongues because we know she is sick. It’s almost been one year since her diagnosis. .. and boy does she have her own story. And she will tell anyone who will listen.. I miss her so much. I know she will never be the same. But I do pray she will begin to live life again.

Leave a Reply

